Day 49: 12/09/12

The alarm goes off at 07:15 and with a cloudless blue sky I decide to have the day off as I originally intended. I went to Casualty last night, if only for a bit. I could really do with a day away from that boiling hot ward. After breakfast, there is a sudden, unexpected downpour which grows stronger and stronger over an hour. I read my book as I wait for it to pass and look up the forecast which indicates that I can expect this weather all day.

Before long, the rain ceases but the dark clouds persist for another hour. Lighter grey patches blossom within the enormous dark cloud and just as I think I could see some sun, they shy away and Karapitiya sees another hour of monsoon rain. Such a shame, I really would have loved to go to the beach today. Instead, I watch The Return Of The King, which I haven’t seen in years. I also go on Skype when the Internet allows me to, and consider my plans for the weekend. I have not been on many big trips here. A lot of my original plans were put aside because of what others had told me. I think now, I just want to relax. I don’t want to travel for hours and hours to see some new sights. I would rather just lay on a beach, sip a cold drink and just enjoy it.

I have reached the point where now, I am looking forward to going home. This place is wonderful, don’t get me wrong, but I am now missing my home comforts. Hot showers, thick mattresses, English home cooking. That would do nicely just about now. I am looking forward to moving to Exeter also and settling back into my normal routine.

Lightning flashes and thunder roars. Wednesday ends in apocalyptic fashion.

Leave a comment